Print Friendly, PDF & Email

thanjavur-assembly-constituencyThanjavur Bye Election 2016

The Election Commission of India has released the tamilnadu bye election for the assembly constituency of thanjavur scheduled on 19.11.2016. Actually the Polling was postponded from 16th may 2016 to this present date by the Election Commission. The main reason for the tanjore bye election is because of the large-scale money laundering by the candidates and political parties.

Election Events Polling Dates
Date of Notification October 26, 2016
Last Date of Making Nomination November 2, 2016
Date of Scrutiny November 3, 2016
Last Date of Withdrawal November 5, 2016
Thanjai Poll date November 19, 2016
Thanjavur AC Vote Counting date November 22, 2016
Date before which Election shall be completed November 24, 2016

Thanjavur Candidate Bye Election List 2016

Sl No. Candidate Name Thanjavur Party Name
1 Nalladurai.A Naam Tamilar Katchi
2 Jeganathan.V Independent
3 Anjugam.B Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam
4 Arumugam.S Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam
5 Rengasamy.M All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam
6 Ramesh.S All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam
7 Devappa.Y Independent
8 Santhosh.M Independent

About Thanjavur Assembly Constituency

Thanjavur counte to be 174th constituency of TN legislative assembly. The unreserved constituency is located in the district falls under Thanjavur parliamentary constituency.  As per Election Commission of India, Thanjavur assembly constituency has about 2,02,002 registered voters with 99,574 male and 1,02,428 female voters.

In the 2011 state assembly elections, the AIADMK scored victory toppling the 3 consecutive terms winner DMK.  M.Rengasamy, the winning AIADMK candidate, secured 75,415 votes. S.N.M.Ubayadullah of DMK received 68,086 from the voter turnout of 74.02 %.

Sitting & ex-MLAs of Thanjavur Assembly Constituency

Following are the list of winners and runners-up in the Thanjavur assembly elections for so far consecutive terms

Year A C No. Constituency Name Category Winner Gender Party Votes Runner Up Gender Party Votes
2011 174 Thanjavur GEN M.Rengasamy M AIADMK 75415 S.N.M.Ubayadullah M DMK 68086
2006 183 Thanjavur GEN Ubayadullah.S.N.M M DMK 61658 Rengasamy.M M AIADMK 50412
2001 183 Thanjavur GEN Ubayadullah. S.N.M M DMK 55782 Rajmohan. R M INC 46192
1996 183 Thanjavur GEN Ubayadullah S.N.M. M DMK 79471 Somasundaram S.D. M ADMK 34389
1991 183 Thanjavur GEN Somasundaram S. D. M ADK 64363 Ubayadullah S. N. M. M DMK 44502
1989 183 Thanjavur GEN Ubayadullah S.N.M M DMK 60380 Thirugnanam Durai M ADK(JL) 25527
1984 183 Thanjavur GEN Durai Krishnamurthy M INC 48065 Thangamuthu, P. S. M DMK 46304
1984 By Polls Thanjavur GEN A.Vandayar.K M INC 54180 Thanagamuthu M DMK 47910
1980 183 Thanjavur GEN Natarajan, S. M DMK 40880 Ramamurthy, A. M IND 39901
1977 183 Thanjavur GEN S. Natarajan M DMK 33418 R. Saminathan M ADK 23662
1971 170 Thanjavur GEN Natarajan S. M DMK 38288 Arokiasamy Nadar A. Y. M NCO 30423
1967 170 Thanjavur GEN P.Nadar M INC 33228 S.Natarajan M DMK 28717

8 Replies to “List of Contesting Candidates of Thanjavur Assembly Constituency Bye Election”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *